Harley Davidson Forums banner

Recommended torque wrenches

62K views 79 replies 40 participants last post by  Firenailer 
#1 ·
So I picked up my maintenance manual and one handy item I do not have is a torque wrench. It looks like you can get more use out of an inches/pounds one, I just wanted to know if anyone had any recommendations.

#2 ·
depends on how much money you want to spend. i have mac AND snap on, but i've been an auto tech most my life. i would recommend sears and craftsman tools. easy to warranty and not very expensive.

#3 ·
Craftsman will test out within the allowable percentage when compared to Snap-On. Not as expensive and unless you do it for a living, no reason to spend more money.

I used a Craftsman torque wrench saily for 7 years until the lock broke on the handle. Probably my fault anyway....

#5 ·
or use it as a weapon............

#7 ·
Agreed. Obviously, 12 inch/lbs = 1 ft/lbs.

However, in order to use an inch lbs wrench on a rear axle, (65 ft/lbs) it would have to read up to 780 inch.lbs. Not likely...

If you're going to do your own work, you'll need both.

As well, cheap-O inch/lbs wrenches will only read no less then 20 inch/lbs, and some bolts are 7, 11 and less then 20 inch/lbs.

Food for thought.

#11 ·
I have 8 torque wrenches. Beam type and clickers. Expensive ones and Harbor Freight specials. The cheap ones seem to be accurate enough but I had one that did break. Harbor Freight replaced it. I have a beam type wrench that reads 0 to 60 in lbs. As Dave said, you need at least one that will do very low inch lb. readings. I have a 600 ft. lb. wrench for the Deuce and a Half. Its so big I can hardly lift it, but it will sure do a job on lug nuts.

#12 ·
I have 7 torque wrenches . Beam , dial , clicker and electronic , inch pound and foot pound . Usually only use them in critical applications though , otherwise it's wrist / elbow torque !