Harley Davidson Forums banner

How to make my Iron 883 sound like a Harley

23K views 21 replies 16 participants last post by  FreedomPenguin 
#1 ·
I just bought my first Harley last week and so far, I love everything about it except for its sound. I'm guessing this is probably the first thing most HD owners upgrade on their bike.... Just looking for some guidance on the best route to go. I'd rather not go through HD as I can probably get a better deal on buying a set of pipes from a local shop but I don't know where to start. Since I'm new to this, what is a good brand that will give good sound, not crazy loud, and won't break the bank. Any advice is much appreciated.

#4 ·
Like Chasarms suggested just get slip-on mufflers. That's the quickest and easiest way to make your bike sound better. There are tons of good brands out there that make slip ons, personally I prefer Vance & Hines. You can also get Harley Street Cannon Slip-on Mufflers. They're not too much money and look nice on the 883. Also, if you just do slip-ons you will NOT need to change your air intake and will NOT need to add a fuel management module such as the Vance & Hines FP3

#5 ·
Slip ons are the way to go. But realize that a Sportster isn't going to sound like a big twin, no matter what you do. The Sportster, besides being a smaller engine is also because of that revs higher at any given speed than the larger "Harley's"
If you try and run your 883 at the revs the larger engines turn at speed, you'll ruin the bottom end rod bearings really quick.

Be careful, and just enjoy your really nice ride,

#7 ·
Slip ons are the way to go. But realize that a Sportster isn't going to sound like a big twin, no matter what you do. The Sportster, besides being a smaller engine is also because of that revs higher at any given speed than the larger "Harley's"
If you try and run your 883 at the revs the larger engines turn at speed, you'll ruin the bottom end rod bearings really quick.