Newb whos broke down mid trip - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
 17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-14-2017, 02:05 AM Thread Starter

Newb whos broke down mid trip

To start with I know I'm suppose to post over on new,, but I'm wiped out. Once I'm home and have slept I will post there. I'll try not to ramble on....I'm 46 have had bikes just not Harleys. I'm an auto mechanic, this is how I make a living out of my own home. Not trying to say because I'm an auto mechanic I know it all, obviously duh, so I know Harleys. Farthest thing from the truth, just stating I have some degree of mechanical aptitude.More on this later. Bought my first Harley a week ago 2009 Heritage softail classic with 17,500 miles From a friend. It was his dad's bike who recently passed away. Even did a short day trip on it with him 3 months ago. Ran great he told me he just changed all fluids with red line. I put appox. 200 miles on it the past week. Kinda checking it out knowing I was going on a road trip to Colorado. (last night) Just made sure back tire was sraight cuz handle bars lean a little. I adjusted shocks I'm not small and I planed on staying a couple weeks. I had luggage with nothing extreme.Any how, pulling into Holbrook, AZ in the wee hours of this morning I noticed a slight vibration starting in 6th gear. Hmmm, I kept going thinking Gallup, NM had to have a stealership. Halfway to Gallup now the vibration is horrendous. All gears when under power, as soon as I pull in the clutch vibration disappears. If I just putt along trying not to give it much power I can float along 50-55 with this death rattle, foot vibrating off the floor board, hands going numb vibration being calmed way down. To the point that maybe I can make it without totally destroying it and finished the trip to Gallup. on the freeway doing 50. I work on cars I know a rattle thats gonna cause some damage when it let's go. I was willing to gamble and