New here with first Harley - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-19-2017, 04:07 AM Thread Starter

New here with first Harley

I am a 58 year old former auto mechanic. I started with a municipal fleet services department back in '77, and finally had to give it up 2 years ago do to a lot of medical issues. So now I'm retired/disabled. I started riding dirt bikes at age 8, got my first street bike at 16, and have been riding ever since. I've had about 40 bikes during that time, mostly Japanese, couple of vintage Triumphs and a Royal Enfield. I've always wanted a Harley, but never bought one. I finally remedied that problem when I bought a 2006 Sportster 1200 Low about a week ago. I love it. I live in Phoenix, AZ, and it was 114 degrees today. Supposed to hit 120 next week. So I won't be doing much if any riding for awhile, which is OK, because I want to learn about the bike (very different from Japanese bikes) and do all the maintenance. It currently has 12,000 miles on it and looks almost like new.

Problem I'm having is every maintenance video I watch on YouTube about the same procedure gives a different way to do it, and different specs on things like the primary chain slack, what oil to use and how much in the primary chain case, what the deflection on the belt should be, etc. And to make matters worse, the PO gave me a Haynes manual with it that contradicts a lot of what I see on YouTube. I was told to get the genuine H-D manual. It's awfully expensive, and the maintenance seems simple once you learn the proper way to do it. I am not a motorcycle mechanic, but I have been working on bikes all my life. I just need to get used the maintenance procedures on the Harley.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-19-2017, 05:40 AM
Swollen Member

Garage