Neutral Position Problems - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
Harley-DavidsonForums.com is an independent enthusiast website owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc. Harley-DavidsonForums.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Harley-Davidson Inc.. The Harley Davidson names and logos are trademarks owned by Harley-Davidson Inc.

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum > Specific Model Areas > Softail General Discussions

» Insurance
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)

Neutral Position Problems

So I just brought my new 2012 HD Blackline home today and I am having some issues with getting the bike into neutral. Now before anyone throws and novice advice at me please be aware that this isn't my first bike. I've been riding for about 11 years now and this is my third bike, and I am also a mechanic for a living. The problem is when I come to a stop I down shift to first as always and then try to get that mid up shift into the neutral position but it always jumps to second gear. The only way I can get the bike into neutral is to shut it off and then I am able to shift it to neutral. In pretty sure I just need to somehow make an adjustment on the clutch cable some how but unlike all of my previous bikes which were both yamahas, there is no tension screw located on the clutch lever assembly. So I'm guessing the adjustment should be made at the point at which the cable enters the transmission? Please, any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated. It's killing me that my brand new blackline is having this issue. I don't live far from the dealer and I only have the bike for the weekend and then I'll be taking it back on Monday to have all my accessories installed that have been on order. What can I do in the meantime to maybe solve this issue myself. Also, the drive line seems to feel a little rough compared to wha