Idle issues with a 2007 sportster - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
Harley-DavidsonForums.com is an independent enthusiast website owned and operated by VerticalScope Inc. Harley-DavidsonForums.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Harley-Davidson Inc.. The Harley Davidson names and logos are trademarks owned by Harley-Davidson Inc.

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum > Specific Model Areas > Sportster General Discussions

» Insurance
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2011, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Thumbs up Idle issues with a 2007 sportster

Hi everyone Just bought my first H.d. motorcycle. I have been riding a bike for four years now. I really enjoy ridiing. However since the purchase of the hd 2007 xl1200l sportster I am spending more time working on it. I purchased the bike used from a private individual. The issue I am having is at idle when cold or hot the motor seems to stumble and miss. Furthermore as I roll on the throttle and hold steady at that rpm( just a tad bit above idle) the stumbling and back firing issue increases. during moderate to heavy acceleration no problems during deacelration no problems. I changed and gap both plugs used 6r12 gapped at .040 with a wire gage. Spark plugs where torque per the manual 18 ft lbs. I also changed the air filter used stock hd air cleaner. Air cleaner was torque to service manual specs. yo yea I did buy the 2007 sportster h.d service manual 99484-07aq. changed the oil with new filter and used syns 20-50w hd oil. Now the bike is bone stock no mods what so ever It still has the stock exhaust. I took the bike to the dealer right after I brought it home. They told me the ilde was fine. finally any way to tighten up the throttle handle. As I was test riding the bike It was diffcult to hold the throttle at a steady state due the bike go over the road surface ( maybe a tighter spring on the