What's worse: Too powerful or not feeling completely comfortable? - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
 194Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 68 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 09:53 AM Thread Starter

Garage
What's worse: Too powerful or not feeling completely comfortable?

Looking for some sage advice here. As some of you know, I bought my first ever bike, an Iron 883 last October. Rode it home some ~20 miles from the dealership with no issues. Took it out the next evening and did some practice up and down some neighborhood side streets for about an hour, again no issues. Was two turns away from being home, and lowsided. Total rookie mistake that I take full responsibility for. Insurance totalled the bike. I ordered a new Iron 883, and it just got to the dealer late last week.

I know I'm new to riding, but I've never felt totally comfortable sitting or riding an Iron. One of the things that really got me thinking about when I ordered the new Iron, is the Harley Promise trade-in deal. I figured I could ride the Iron for a season, trade it in over the next winter, and order what bigger scoot I wanted.

I went out to the dealer last week to sit on and check out the new Iron I ordered, and when I sat on it, I got that feeling of not feeling totally comfortable again. I'm 5'11" and around 230. The mid controls feel like they're too close, and the high center of gravity isn't something I'm a big fan of. All of the Softails and Touring bikes I've sat on have been great. I feel like I'm "in" those, whereas I feel like I'm "on" the Sportster.

Top if off, I read the fine print on HD's website about the trade-in, and it's only for bikes that the dealer has in stock. Not a huge thing, per se, but if I'm dropping $15K-$20K+ on a bike, I want it to have all the options I want, in the color I want.