Harley Davidson Forums banner

Top end rebuild?

12K views 19 replies 9 participants last post by  Gorillathehun 
#1 ·
I recently got myself an 04 sportster 1200. A weird knock suddenly become a no start condition that also sounds like no compression. If i hold the start button for a minute it will catch compression every 10 to 15 seconds or so. Also, there is what looks like oil seeping out of the hex bolts on top of the rocker box. Im looking for any and all advice because i camt afford to pay for repairs but refuse to give up my bike.thank you all in advance for any help. Btw im new to motorcycle repair but not to turning a wrench.

#3 ·
Pitchers would help. I would pull the plugs out, take the rocker covers off and turn it over. See if the valves are workin. Well, maybe do a compression test first. If ya don't have a compression tester, hold your thumb over the hole,at least you'll know if you have compression. Could you tell where the knockin was comin from, bottom end or top?

#7 ·
Pics Where the oil is leakin from. To run an engine needs gas,fire and compression. it could have a bad crank position sensor.

Did it run good when you bought it?

When you try to crank it, what does it do? will it run at all?

Could be a weak battery also.

#8 ·
It did run good when i fiirst got it. It started to make a loud clunk noise one night and the next day when i started it it started for a min then died. It doesn't start at all right now. When i used to crank it over you would hear a rumble like it was coming from the exhaust now when i crank it all i hear is the noise of the engine. Here is the pic of the oil. Thank you very much btw.

Attachments

#9 ·
I would'nt be concerned with that little bit of oil. 40 thousand miles will dry out and crack gaskets. You might even be able to snug'um down a little. Theres a little rubber gasket under that bolt.