CV carb Air/Mixture adjustment question - Harley Davidson Forums: Harley Davidson Motorcycle Forum
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By baggerboy
  • 1 Post By Dawgs241
  • 4 Post By Dawgs241

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 10:03 AM Thread Starter

CV carb Air/Mixture adjustment question

Hello all,
I decided to adjust the air/gas screw on my 98 Sportster 1200. The screw turned 4 1/4 turns clockwise before seating. I read online that if it turns more than 3 out, the pilot jet is too small. (Im new with these CV carbs please forgive ignorance....lol) So if the pilot jet is too small, is this an adjustment that has to be made or does that mean I have to get a larger number pilot jet? I took the Carb apart and cleaned it when I first purchased the bike and I thought the jets were stock, so how could stock pilot jet be too small?

The air gas screw turned 4 1/4 turns clockwise before stopping, so I turned it 4 1/2 turns back. The bike runs pretty good, idols fine once warmed up and throttle response seems to be good, choke works fine. It does not back fire too much, maybe very slightly when coming to stop after riding for a while (but its minor). The only indication of running rich is the strong smell of gas when running.

Should I not worry about this or do I need to do something with pilot jet?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 11:55 AM
South GA Redneck

Garage

Did you look to see what size jet was in the carb? What kind of engine modifications have been done to the bike? Its should run fine around 2-2.5 turns out....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Central joe likes this.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 12:48 PM Thread Starter