Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This potentially will be my first HD, but before I commit I want to get a few things clarified for the sake of peace of mind. Perhaps you can share some of your insights.

It is regarding a '03 Heritage Softail Classic with the 88B injected motor and 12000 km / 7500 miles on the clock. After test riding it for about a hour, and upon returning, I noticed these wet areas. Please see the attached picture; what you see is the front facing side of the front cylinder. The rear cylinder shows a similar weep on its rear facing side.

Since I am completely new to the Harley realm, I am curious to know if there is a known issue with these weeps from this type/model/year. I guess the low mileage over the past nineteen years doesn't help either eh? Anyhow, what does it take to fix it? And if I decide to have it fixed by a shop, how many shop hours do you feel is reasonable to see on the bill?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
21 LowRider S
45,170 Posts
This potentially will be my first HD, but before I commit I want to get a few things clarified for the sake of peace of mind. Perhaps you can share some of your insights.

It is regarding a '03 Heritage Softail Classic with the 88B injected motor and 12000 km / 7500 miles on the clock. After test riding it for about a hour, and upon returning, I noticed these wet areas. Please see the attached picture; what you see is the front facing side of the front cylinder. The rear cylinder shows a similar weep on its rear facing side.

Since I am completely new to the Harley realm, I am curious to know if there is a known issue with these weeps from this type/model/year. I guess the low mileage over the past nineteen years doesn't help either eh? Anyhow, what does it take to fix it? And if I decide to have it fixed by a shop, how many shop hours do you feel is reasonable to see on the bill?

Thanks in advance!