Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,774 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:new

At least I'm new to the Iron Head side! I've been looking for a project, and I found one. I had a lot of plans, but my wife claimed it as hers before I could even get the bike home. So, here she is (the sporty, not my wife):

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,774 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I found a service manual on eBay today, so that is on the way. Now, I am ready to start in on it!

·
Registered
341 Posts
check out a book how to build a harley monster, by bill rook. he shows you how to step-by-step to build one. my copy is being passed around .b&n has it for $12.00

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,774 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
check out a book how to build a harley monster, by bill rook. he shows you how to step-by-step to build one. my copy is being passed around .b&n has it for $12.00
I will. Thanks.

What he said.

What plans do you have for it?
Pretty much a ground up restoration. It's not running, but the guy said that he had it running last year, and that he knew it smoked. I only gave $750 for it, so I think I have some room to spend a little on it.

·
Office Linebacker
1,218 Posts
Hey!
Congrats man!

Welcome to the Ironhead family!

GREAT - GREAT - GREAT to see another one getting on the road.
I did a '76 last summer... Let me know if I can help.
DeeDay

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,774 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks DeeDay. I will!

·
Registered
695 Posts
Nice bike for a starting point. It looks like it wouldn't be hard to do a somewhat-correct restoration on, and would be a real head-turner if put back original.

·
Pork Jockey
7,416 Posts
Man! How cool!

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,774 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Thanks guys. Right now I am goin gpage by page through the sporty forum reading everything I can find on the iron heads.

·
Fla Cajun
25,353 Posts
What plans do you have for it?