Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ladies and Gentlemen... newbie here. thanks for allowing me to pick your brain.
I have a 1998 Fatboy. The last time I rode was in October. Recently I went to start her
and she was hard starting. (no start). when I lifted the choke she would backfire through the exhaust while trying to turn over. changed plugs, filter and rebuilt S&S Shorty. She's still doing the same thing. I did check the spark today and she's getting spark from both wires. Does this bike have a crank sensor or cam sensor ?

Any thoughts?

Thanks for your attention on this. :)

·
weird member
1,935 Posts
1998 and stock ignition and motor, would have a cam position sensor that runs to an ignition control module that is connected to the main harness and runs to the coil.

However, before jumping into the ignition system, it's probably something way less complicated and way easier.

Have you had the battery tested? I mean actually load tested and stuff, because a charger will only indicate when a battery is full, but the battery could have bad cells and not hold enough juice.

What exactly was it doing when hard starting? Like, it just didn't want to turn over? Didn't try to turn over at all and only the starter made noise?

I seriously doubt something went wrong with the ignition system since October if nothing was messed with since you last rode it.

My first thought would be bad battery, or a carburetor issue long before ignition system.

Do you have a factory service manual?

·
South GA Redneck
3,895 Posts
When you replaced the plugs, did you make sure the front plug wire is on the front cylinder. Reversed plug wires will cause the issue you’re having. Also as stated, make sure the battery is fully charged and will pass a load test. Finally if nothing else works and it ran fine before it sat for a while, check the carb for something you may have over looked.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·