Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am brand new to Harleys and haven't owned a motorcycle for more than 2 of the last ten years.

Long story short, I inherited my Dad's bike recently (will own forever). It has been sitting relatively unridden for the last 3 years due to estate stuff. Had it shipped to me over the summer straight to a shop for a safety inspection, etc. Picked it up in July and have had it in the garage since while I've slowly been working on titling issues. I have turned the bike over less than a dozen times in 4 months just to keep things moving. Long story complete, bike has zero miles on it since received.

Anyway, finally at the point of making it a daily commuter. I tried to turn it over, but it doesn't seem to catch. Symptom 1: Starter works, bike won't start.

After a couple rounds of killing the battery (there is a parasitic discharge that my dad never figured out), I finally pulled a can of starter fluid off the shelf. A short spray later, and boom....the bike starts for less than 2 seconds. Repeat, same results. Symptom 2: Bike starts with accelerant in the air intake.

I started thinking about the issue. Remembered hearing a buzzing sound when I would flip either the bike "on" overall or the start handlebar switch to "run". The buzzing under the tank doesn't happen anymore. Symptom 3: Noise from (possible) fuel pump not engaging/turning on.

After a few beers and some research, I've gotten real, real close to the fuel tank. When the bike is shut off, I can hear what sounds like a mechanical release of pressure?? or a valve opening. Symptom 4: Pressure release upon power cutoff.