Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Harley's and so many questions. Please have patience.
I sold a sport tourer and bought my first HD. I have read a lot about heat and running to rich. I can't ride for a while due to an accident so it is sitting in garage gathering dust. I want to have a bike that is dependable and enjoyable to ride when I am able. Some say Stage 1 others oil cooler some an XIED. I am not interested in it being loud just don't want to feel the heat. Looking for someone to give advice on what I can do to fix this even though it has never been ridden and I may be lucky and not feel the heat. Will just slip ons fix it? An XIED? Oil Cooler or should I do a Stage 1? Sorry for long post but not sure where to start? It will be months before I am able to ride so I do have plenty of time.
Thanks

·
On Probation
2,205 Posts
Bikes run lean from factory, a stage 1 with a good tuner will help but you will always have heat while sitting on top of an air cooled motor.

·
Go Army!
632 Posts

·
Harley Rider
10,488 Posts
X-ides will help some but a heat shield will give you more protection. It will still be hot to some degree.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
110 Posts
Don't spend a lot of money fixing problems that you aren't sure you have. I have a Heritage and never notice the heat. Heal well, ride safe and figure out the things you want based on your ride instead of we internet bikers. :)

·
Registered
78 Posts
I have a 1998 Heritage and I have never had an issue with heat on my thighs. I agree with Chief, go out and ride it some first and see if you have an issue before buying a heat shield. If you do decide you want one, there are any number of them avaialable on Ebay or from Captain Itch.

·
Registered
11,973 Posts