Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

My name is Nicholas, I am a registered nurse in New York and after being in so many sport bike related traumas I decided to trade my R6 in and get a Harley. I have a history of owning HD, a 94 electra glide and a Vrod but now I am back.

I just picked up a 2014 Sportster 1200c. I love the bike so far, it needs a little work, mostly cosmetic, but I am having a strange issue and I am not sure where to look. Basically what is happening is if I am cruising light throttle at a steady RPM the sporty like to buck a little bit. It's rather annoying and nothing like the way my carb electra glide used to ride. It is definitely having this intermittent miss. I can recognize it more at lower speed, still will occur in say 4th or 5th but if I'm cruising 3rd gear and I'm sitting at 2800 rpm the bike intermittently misses and bucks. I checked primary chain tension thinking it was probably loose, it was snugged up a bit and still have this problem. I checked codes and I don't have any on the bike. I pulled the plugs they have a grayish tint to them so I don't think I am having a rich/lean condition. Maybe spark is getting lost, but the bike only has 12k miles on it.

Furthermore are these engines likes excessively noisy? I don't remember my evo being this loud. It doesn't sound like like rod knock, maybe valve train but with with some slight rotational noise. Very hard to describe. I kind of want to take it to a shop and have them look at it but I fear they will just say, oh that's normal sportster noise and then I look stupid. In comparison to the VROD it is significantly noisier. Thanks guys in advance!

·
V-Twin Junkie
1,048 Posts
Sporty Evos slound like sewing machines on steroids (if the pipes are stock). As for your cruising issue, test the coil, but don't be surprised if it is a lean surge issue.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·