Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I was doing a 3 hole drain when I discovered this nightmare hahah any ideas on what I should check first? Trans shifts good and there was no indication of a problem. I did how ever drop it attempting to learn wheelies with this hog and bent the shifter so it did slam in gear before it shut off “side note it’s a selvage bike and I got it to stunt ”

Attachments

·
Registered
42,101 Posts
Looks like it could have been a snap ring of some sort at one time.

:dunno

Reactions: JLR

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looks like it could have been a snap ring of some sort at one time.

:dunno
Yeah that makes sense, how the hell would that happen🤦‍♂️ I guess I’ll have to pull the guts and see, I’m just not sure what I’m looking for, I’ve never worked on a transmission before and was hoping someone would have a little insight on where to look first.

·
Registered
5,469 Posts
You know the old saying: when in doubt, pull it out. How did it happen? could have been when you fell and jammed the shifter. Wheelies are extremely hard on m/c components.

Reactions: Kainam

·
Registered
42,101 Posts
You know the old saying: when in doubt, pull it out. How did it happen? could have been when you fell and jammed the shifter. Wheelies are extremely hard on m/c components.
Yup!

I've broken a tooth off of a gear once on my EVO.

Good thing it was under warranty!

·
Registered
42,101 Posts
:eek!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
yeah I’m sure that was the cause, shifter linkage is bent and I lost the shifter 🤦‍♂️ I’ll update with pics when I get the gear set out.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Just got done putting a new gear set in a 18 Road Glide as there were no teeth left on 3rd gear!!
Really! I’ve heard the six speeds are weak, maybe I should just swap it out to an older 5 speed.

·
Registered
42,101 Posts