Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I try and ride every couple of days if not everyday. It is a bit tough here in Fl. with the weather we have. But today I reached one of my personal milestones..
Since I am new to the cruiser street bikes I set small goals or challenges for my self. I have ridden in the neighborhood, to the other side of town in the rain (now that was a milestone for sure). Last weekend I even went for a several hour trip with some neighbors down south of me on some back roads.
Today i made one of the big ones. Since I bought the bike last month had set a goal to ride to Brandon Fl where my HD dealer is. It is only a 45 min ride but in some heavier traffic than I have ridden before.
I got up and headed out early to minimize traffic and and the high temps.
It was perfect this morning and a beautiful ride. Made it in good time hung out for a while had a coke and said my hellos to the crew and headed back to the house.
What a great ride.
So what should I set for my next milestone ?

·
Mississippi Cajun
24,456 Posts
Don't push too hard if you're just starting out. Small steps and build your ability through experience and confidence. Since you're in Florida, try a ride to the keys and do an overnighter.

·
Registered
982 Posts
Don't push too hard if you're just starting out. Small steps and build your ability through experience and confidence. Since you're in Florida, try a ride to the keys and do an overnighter.
That would definitely be cool. Wife an I flew to Miami and rented a cage, (camero convertible) to drive to the keys. Big mistake. Hwy 1 was a bitch. Took over 5 hours to drive to Key West because of the one lane and traffic. Bikers were passing on the right and getting on down the road. Ain't going back, but if I did, I would rent a bike instead of a cage to get to Key West and just carry a tenth of what we had carried for the trip.

·
South GA Redneck
3,898 Posts