Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did a couple of weeks ago. Relatively simple upgrade.
I installed a 125 Watt amp with two 6.5" Speakers. All from Arc Audio. This is called their MPAK6 upgrade. I got it from Eastern Performance for 499. Delivered.
The only thing I added was inside faring padding for better sound. I got it from J&M.

I have never done this before, but thought I would try.
Steps I took.
Read instructions, inventoried everything. Looked on Youtube. Got my trusty Service Manual out and looked up Faring and Tank removal. Inventoried needed tools. Bought a 1/2 to 3/8 socket reducer for my torques.

Before the start

Removed Seat and covered the bike then removed the tank and uncovered the battery. 4 bolts for the tank and a quick disconnect line for the gas line. Went real will until I pulled my lighting out that was attached to the tank. Oops. Repaired with 20lb two sided tape.

Removed the faring. Very easy. 7 bolts. Be careful to disconnect the headlight and not scratch anything.

Inspected the wiring before I touched anything and photographed just in case.

More to come

·
Pork Jockey
7,416 Posts
I heard it and it sounded incredible!

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ran Power harness from battery though the faring. There is a place to put wiring that is covered under the tank. Sorry, no pic.

Tightened up the cables around the battery for easy future access to the fuse just in case my bass needs pop the fuse.

Removed the fuse, so I would not short anything out.

Wired the power to the amp. This pic is wrong, but I did not get a pic of the correct configuration until it was mounted (see below). The instructions were very poor for this part. This pics in the manual were not colored correctly either. Be careful. You can fry everything with incorrect power wiring.

Speaker harness wired into the amp.