Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Replaced a faulty voltage regulator today. Multimeter shows 13v during idle. Didn't seem to change with higher rpms though. Took her for a test ride and discovered something interesting. The blinkers work at idle but freeze at higher rpms. Any ideas what is wrong?

·
Banned
71 Posts

·
Registered
3,520 Posts
Check the stator output. And all connections in the charging system. Your charging voltage ( with a fully charged battery) should be 14+ volts. It should rise slightly when the engine is reved up.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the quick replies. I'm about to run some more tests. This is my first time trying to diagnose electrical problems so please bear with my newbie questions:

1. When checking stator output, this should be while the bike is off, correct?
2. Are the TSSM code tests relevant to a 2001 Sporty?

My shop manual hasn't come in yet so for the time being, I have to turn to you all for things I might not otherwise need once that book gets here.

Thanks!

·
Banned
71 Posts
Thanks for the quick replies. I'm about to run some more tests. This is my first time trying to diagnose electrical problems so please bear with my newbie questions:

1. When checking stator output, this should be while the bike is off, correct?
2. Are the TSSM code tests relevant to a 2001 Sporty?

My shop manual hasn't come in yet so for the time being, I have to turn to you all for things I might not otherwise need once that book gets here.

Thanks!
Stator output is checked with motor running. Sticky in electrical section on how to do it .

If you have a security system..you have a TSSM..if you don't , then you have a TSM. Either way , the sticky will tell you how to pull codes and what they mean .

Two separate problems with two separate fixes . :thumbsup :)

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·