Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I'm new to the forums. My friend just purchased a Street 750 and I'm obsessed with getting a motorcycle, specifically a Harley-Davidson of my own. The problem is that I'm not sure what I want.

I'm completely new to riding and the motorcycle world. I don't even know what to call it without looking stupid, a bike, a motorcycle, something else? All I do know is that I want to ride. I'm even registered for the Ohio's version of the beginner rider / motorcycle safety course.

I know I'm not ready for a road king, ultra, or a V-Rod. Boy do I love the look of a V-Rod, but I know it's too much bike for me right now.

I'm 6'1'' and 210 lbs. I've sat on the 750, but I'm wondering if it's too small a bike for me (my knees sit slightly above the tank). The salesperson said that it is a great first bike, but I may outgrow it in a year or even after a season of riding. I'm wondering if I should spring for a Sportster instead (Iron 883, Forty-Eight, etc.). I sat on a 1200 Custom and found the ergonomics to be better for my size. I also have a bad lower back, so no prolonged hunching over or sport bikes for me. I wonder if this means no V-Rod Night Special either?

What should I do for my first Harley, learn on the smaller, easier to handle 750, or just go ahead and get a Sportster?

Cheers,
kp

·
Registered
12,074 Posts
Welcome from Kentucky. And welcome soon to the world of riding on 2 wheels.

I suggest you visit one or more dealers and sit on a number of bikes. Obviously you have already sat on a 750 and a Sporty. Fine bikes. But don't discount the Dyna and Softail models as well--any of them can be a good first bike.

·
Registered
7,340 Posts