Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, happy new year.

I'm new here and I'm new to the world of motorcycles! :D

Right now I'm in the researching phase of buying a bike and I like the sportsters in general but budget wise and most importantly for me, the looks of the bike, I have chosen the iron 883. As I said I'm new to riding, never had a bike before but I won't consider buying any other bike as I don't like them. I don't really care about how powerful the bike is I'm just in love with the sportsters and having a Harley is like a dream. People say getting iron 883 is a bad choice for a first bike but no one says why?!!

Now, my question here is should I buy a new one or a used one?

A new stock one is 8000$+ and a used 2010 to 2013 is around 8000$. This seems a little bit odd to me. Why are the prices so close to each other? Is it because they have changed some parts to their liking in the used ones?

·
Outlaw Nipple Poster
2,872 Posts
It's the "don't ask, don't get" syndrome with used bikes. I did a quick "883 for sale" scan and only saw two for $8000. Dream on my brothers.

·
Registered
11,033 Posts
People say getting iron 883 is a bad choice for a first bike but no one says why?!!

Now, my question here is should I buy a new one or a used one?
Welcome. What may be a "bad choice" for some may not be bad for you. There are a few forum members who are quite happy with their 883 Sportys. But the majority of those starting on an 883 end up going to a 1200 Sporty or a bigger bike.

A dealer will almost certainly be higher than if you buy a used bike from an individual. Look around and check Craigslist. Lots of slightly used Sportys still in warranty for sale.

·
Registered
1,423 Posts
All I can say is be very careful. you say you don't care about the power? For most beginning riders sportys have way more power than you can handle.

·
Super Moderator
4,345 Posts