Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2009 Sportster Custom 1200. I changed the grips on my bike. Afterward, I keyed on, fuel injector whined like normal, everything seemed good until I pressed the start switch. It made one deep click, and that was it. Continuous attempts also only produced the same click noise.

I know it's not a lot to go on, but I'm pretty new at this stuff. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
710 Posts
Intro??? And if your injector is whining give it some cheese ,if your fuel pump is whining -normal. Check your battery! and switch wires maybe pinched or damaged.

·
luv the low country
19,251 Posts
Yup, intro would be appropriate.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What do you mean, intro?
Yeah, I'm going to throw the trickle charger on tonight and give it a shot tomorrow evening.

·
Super Moderator
4,353 Posts
Glad you found the intro page :) Might seem silly but many people log in just to ask one question on several different forums. The intro is just a good way of making yourself at home first.

Anyhow, anything new after the charger? Also, after you replaced the grips did the throttle move through the entire range of motion with the same amount of resistance as before? Hoping the top charge does the trick but keep us posted.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Looks like the trickle charger topped off the battery. I'm going to wait until it cools down a bit before I start working on it. I'm also about to run to the dealership to pick up a pair of brass ferrules to replaced the ones I tore up thinking they were locks to be turned with a flathead. (D'oh! Service manual didn't really describe their removal)

I'll let you guys know what happens.

·
I {Heart} Hookers.
31,321 Posts
My guess is nothing will happen, until you unpinch the wire in the right side (front brake side) switch pod, that is currently pinched and grounded.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #9