Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!
I guess I'm an idiot. I just finished putting new apes and cables on my 07 WideGlide. Took it for a test ride around the driveway this afternoon and wasn't happy with the way the clutch felt, so decided to adjust it. I've never done this before, but reading up on this forum, reading the manual, and watching some youtube videos it didn't look super difficult so what the heck.
Well, after "adjusting" it I now can't get out of neutral. I can shift down and up and the green N goes out, but there's no familiar "clunk" and the bike doesn't move when "in gear".
I've tried and retried four or five times with no luck: give cable free play...loosen inner nut in primary, turn adjuster screw until it bottoms out...back off 1/2 turn...hold adjuster screw while tightening inner nut...take up free play out of cable to 1/16 to 1/8".
The first time I attempted the adjustment the bike was in Neutral. Did I screw something up?
Thanks for any input. I just want to ride.

·
Wayward Son
23,350 Posts
The adjustment that needed to be made was probably to the cable itself. Not internally.

·
Gypsy on Parade
4,780 Posts
Man, I've read and re-read your post. Maybe I'm an idiot too. Hang tight, somebody smarter than us will be along here I'm a minute with some pearly drops of wisdom.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Hard Member
3,241 Posts
Dave63 wil be along soon. If anyone can figure it out it's him. Baggerboy is another one that might be able to help.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Would I still be able to see the plate moving in and out when I pull the clutch lever if something was screwed up in the ball and ramp assembly?

·
Kicking Rocks...
11,139 Posts
1. Stand motorcycle upright and level.
2. Remove five screws to free clutch inspection cover from
primary chaincase cover.
3. Remove seal ring from clutch inspection cover and discard.
4. Add freeplay to cable.