Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
ZVO
1,416 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ConsumerReports.org released their motorcycle failure rates and its's all here

ImageUploadedByMotorcycle1428410540.506407.jpg

26% of Harley Davidson bikes failed after 4 years that means that 1 in 4 of us will have a big problem with our bike! Sheesh!

So trade it in at the 3 year mark

·
Super Moderator
12,743 Posts
I worked in the consumer electronics industry for several years. Consumer reports is about as trustworthy as Cracked magazine.

·
Registered
326 Posts
I can confirm their results with multiple firsthand HD Customer Beta Testing that I unknowingly conducted...
I have a honda in the garage also and can confirm those results also...actually the honda one seems very high compared to mine...
Say it isn't so...LOL.

Ps I agree that so called consumer reports appears to be biased many times...My daughter was going to buy a volkswagon jetta one time...I checked it out and consumer reports said the motor was junk basicly, but gave the car A PASSING GRADE TO BUY...Really...They were right, the motor was junk...and so was the car...

·
Vile Deplorable
1,435 Posts
I always felt that CR and the Onion were run by the same bunch of jokers.

·
Super Moderator
12,743 Posts
They rated 5 electric blankets. They had an ax to grind with Sunbeam and rated us dead last after JC Penny, Sears, Oster and another brand.

Long story short, we made everyone of those blankets in Waynesborough, MS side by side. Cosmetic differences in controls, but essentially identical in function and operation.

They did that with other products as well. It helped that they didn't really know where things were made.

·
luv the low country
19,251 Posts
That will help the sales pitch of the Extended Warranty Programs.:D

·
Outlaw Nipple Poster
2,872 Posts