Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello ladies and gentleman.

I have been riding a 05 S4R Monster for the past 2 years rain or shine. Its my daily commuter and I currently do not own a vechicle.

I have been seriously thinking about getting a more relaxed ride than my current bike. I am not to concerned about HP and Torque but I know my current bike is rated at 120hp and 80 Torque. As long as what ever Bike I get has enough power to hang on the freeway, pass cars etc.

How are the Nightsters as a daily rider. Is there anyone here who has come off a Sports Hyrbrid bike to a Harley and if so what are your experience with that?

It also appears that the harley gets upwards to 55mpg on the freeway which would be a nice improvement over my Ducati.

Hows the gearing on the Nighters. Do they have a broad power range and are they managable at slow speeds?

Last but not least the Ducati is rather exspensive to maintain. How the Harley's for that?

Thanks for your time in advance :ride

·
Just passing thru
6,636 Posts
Welcome Nightman,

I would consider something from the Dyna family myself for a bit more Highway comfort. I love the look of the Nightster but think a Dyna (FatBob is my favorite) Fits nicely between Highway comfort but still sporty enough to be a good around town bike too.

·
On a ride
4,996 Posts
Welcome NightMan. Good thoughts from Dave and EZE above. Duc rider here as well, but would note H-D I think offers a finer bike for what you are looking for. A test ride would be good. Keep us posted.

·
COB
1,984 Posts
I owned an older Monster (2000?). I have to admit it wasn't my favorite bike. Just be aware that there is no Harley made the will feel normal after riding a Duc. That isn't bad or good for either bike, just is what it is, so consider that when you set your expectations.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Welcome Nightman,