Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first bike and its 400 miles from rolling over to 24000 miles. since im new to bikes and theres no manuals with the bike, i have no idea what oil or filter to use and what all needs to be done at 24k. ive also read a few threads about primary fluid? what is that? can someone give me some help until i make my way to the dealership and purchase the manuals? thanks

·
Registered
8 Posts
On a sporty you only have two holes to fill/change. Motor oil is approx 4 qts and the primary takes 1 qt. 1st off, spend $65 or so on the factory service manual for your particular bike, it will walk you thru all the maintanence procedures as well as give you the correct quantities for fluid changes.
Make it easy on yourself and get the oil filter from the dealership, nothing wrong with them. Oil preference is a whole different topic, just make sure whatever you put in is designed for an air cooled motor. Get to know your bike by doing the work yourself and knowing it was done right!!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks! the oil has to be 20w50 motorcycle oil correct? ill prolly go with synthetic. since the oil subject is so touchy and everyone has their own opinion of what to use, is there any oil that i should stay away from? does the primary need to be changed now?

·
Registered
8 Posts