Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
70's Drag racer
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, folks! New to this forum but not new to Harley. Currently have an '06 VRSCD Nightrod with a few mods in Black cherry/Black and just picked up a '08 Anniversary Edition VRSCAW (#0709/1200). First Harley I had was a '57 Panhead I picked up out of a barn of a farmer I was working for, for the tall sum of $400 (the same amount he owed me for the work I had done, strangely enough.) 2nd gear was gone, but with the help of a friend of the family (Ron Trock) and lots of rotted rubber and wireing replaced, it was soon (relatively) back on the road. Hated it! Floorboards, suicide stick. Thought it ran like a garden tractor. Wish I still had it. Had less than 500 original miles when I sold it for $2000 in '77 (looked like a fortune to this kid.
Next I bought and drag raced several Kawasaki KZ900 and 1000's over the next couple of years until I graduated high school and entered the infantry like all good boys did at the time. When I got out, my uncle hooked me up with a shovel (cracked cases on a '48 hardtail frame. Ron Trock saved the day with new cases kind of. He was one of the first guys to come out with a big inch kit for Harleys and was marrying sportster cases to shovel, pan, and knuckle uppers. So I got the 105ci Shovster with monster SS carb, cams, and bullet proof 5-speed sportster tranny. Thang shot fire out the pipes at night when you where gettin it:D
Then I started haveing kids and had to sell the red dragon for the birthin of one of 'em. Didn't have a bike again until I bought the '06 Nightrod. a sad tale.

·
......My Title......
1,061 Posts
Welcome to the forum!!!

·
Touch my monkey....
471 Posts
57 pan for $400.................... If only today............. Welcome.

·
70's Drag racer
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #8