Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I bought my 2006 883 about 8 months ago I have been 'adjusting' it to suit me. I have been working on (and building) motorcycles for over 40 years but I am at a bit of a loss for the problem I have been having with fork oil.

I have been tuning my Progressive springs, fiddling with different weights of oil and adjusting the preload (through different lengths of PVC).

Even though I remove the caliper and hang it high prior to changing the fork oil -- to keep the oil off of the pads, I invariably get a bit of oil on the rotor, the pads pick up the oil, etc.

I use brake cleaner on the rotor prior to reinstalling the caliper, but this is the second time I have inadvertently oiled the pads by not cleaning fully prior to reinstallation.

I then remove the pads, soak them in Kereosene, spray them with brake cleaner and finish with compressed air to dry.

Then I take a sheet of 60 grit sandpaper on a piece of glass and scuff the pads to insure that all the oil has been removed.

Naturally, I have to reseat the pads which takes a couple of hundred miles.

Aside from not getting oil on the pads in the first place, is there a more efficient way of cleaning them if this happens again?

·
Registered
1,210 Posts
Cover the rotor with a shop bag or fender cover; anything that will not soak up the oil or let it seep through to the rotor. Are you getting the oil on it when you are draining the forks or filling them up? If it's when you are draining them; turn the wheel a different way. For example, my rotor is on the left so I would turn my wheel to the left to allow gravity to pull the stream of oil away from the rotor; if the wheel is turned right the stream would flow closer to the rotor. Best thing to do is to cover the rotor.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Wayward Son
23,865 Posts
Slightly OT.
Why clean them with kerosene? It is oil based.