Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a unique idea to mount my gopro on my 14 ultra limited. It will use the center windshield bolt and I will be able to see the camera at the very bottom of the shield. It will still be out front of the shield and I have a remote with it. I just got the camera and have never used it on a ride. I'm wanting to make some videos riding the dragon, other mountain roads, and on our trip to key west.
Is a mount like this just going to give me a boring video looking straight ahead? I'm not a big fan of mounting on my helmet even though it might give me a more interesting result.
This would be practically free other than an hour or so in my shop, but if I just need to let my wife run the camera, that's what I'll do.
If I do build the adapter, I will post some pics of it.
Any suggestions would be great.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
The Angry One
10,578 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what I have found to work.

For settings in your camera, I have found that 720p, shooting 60fps, with a medium lense setting, yields the best all around result, while giving you great looking video, minimal "shake" or vibration in your video clips, decent battery life, storage usage on your SD card.

Also, keep your videos to around 5 min in length, any longer and the video will "split" on its own on the SD card, and it will be a chore to figure out the video sequences, as I have found it doesn't split into perfect order.

A mount like this may yield better results, and also give you a chance to turn the camera around and get yourselves in the shot.

Look at this on eBay:

http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=271164397888

GoPro Camera Mount fits Memphis Shades Batwing Fairings also Harley 96-present

If you look on eBay, there are some battery kits, that will include a charger and a couple of batteries, you will want extras, trust me. Haha

·
Registered