Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:biker:While most of my riding background is off road and racing, i am curious what is the one thing you expect from some one riding in a group with you? I am new to group rides and i want to make it a great ride for all.

·
Registered
569 Posts
My pet peeve: the guys that can't ride at a steady speed, always speeding up and slowing down for no reason or just because they like the sound of their exhaust when they crack the throttle. It creates a "rubber band" effect for everyone behind them and can be dangerous.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Pay attention to guy in front of you and never go up along side of them while under way. He may not have realized you are there and move over and hit you. Always be aware of the guy following you. Always discuss the route that way if you get split up you will be able to regroup.

·
Asylum Inmate
11,740 Posts
I won't ride in a group (except for the toy run) where I do not know the people.

Biggest bitch is we don't have to many left that can hold the track on the straight much less a corner. The whole lane is for safety not for use IMO each lane still has two tracks and four positions. Most don't know that anymore.

Drive me nuts at poker rides when people don't separate by ability.

Drives me nuts when I see people behind me looking around in high intensity traffic patterns instead of watching the road.

Which is why I gave up group riding unless the event kind of creates it and then that is only til I figure out who has the skills and wants to separate from the accidents waiting to happen.

Occasionally I will find a brother from the 70s that remembers side by side close formation riding and will ride close staggered with them if they are going my way. I have had a few behind me recognize the track hold in corners and pull up want to ride close staggered.