Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a good place to learn about the different models of HD?

I am new to this and just bought my dad's 2000 883 Sportster.

I hear about Glides, Softtails, Bobbers, Fat Boys, etc but I can never get a handle on what is what. I'm having so much fun with the Sportster and I have a feeling I'll want to trade it for a bigger bike someday, but I can't keep them straight!

·
Turgid Member
1,248 Posts
The HD website is a good place to start. They have all the bikes listed by family and name and other info about the individual bikes themselves.

If you want to know about a specific older bike not listed or about bobbers just Google it. There's a ton of Harley info on the web.

Harley-Davidson USA | Harley-Davidson USA

·
THE Yuppie Outlaw
10,081 Posts
The HD website is a good place to start. They have all the bikes listed by family and name and other info about the individual bikes themselves.

If you want to know about a specific older bike not listed or about bobbers just Google it. There's a ton of Harley info on the web.

Harley-Davidson USA | Harley-Davidson USA
^^^^^^^^^^^This

The internet is your best friend.

·
Fat Guy on the Ultra
5,383 Posts
Well like others said the hd website is a great idea, but heres a crash course.
Sportsters, smaller frame, smaller 883 -1200cc engines. Great for smaller riders.
Dyna family, big twin, rubber mounted engine, bigger frame, exposed rear shocks.
Softail family, big twin, internally balanced engine, bigger frame, hidden rear shocks to give appearence of a hard tail
Touring family, stock with saddle bags, bg twin, air ride rear shocks and largest frame,
V-Rod family, only watercooled harley line, built for aggressive sport style riding.

Thats my understanding of the basic families, above that each bike within the family has its own styles and and such.

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm on HD's site now.