Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2012 Heritage with 3500 miles on it. I check oil every couple of weeks. Today I checked the oil and had to add about 3/4 quart and this has me concerned. Around ninety percent of my riding is local non highway. No apparent leaks and I am using Syn 3 since the 1000 mile service. Bike runs great. Oil looks dark to me for 2500 miles on it but I am no expert. Should I be concerned?

·
Call me Gig.
3,964 Posts
No you shouldn't. Most engines will use a little during break in. If it continues after the 5K check up, then you should worry.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Go Army!
632 Posts
JMG, agree with Wrgiacona. For what it's worth I have an 08 Heritage with 18,800 miles on the bike (and a Stage II Big Bore Kit) and lose absolutely no oil. I $shit you not my friend. Zero oil loss. Give it some time.

·
Registered
323 Posts
I have a 07 Heritage that has 22,000 on it and over the last 2500 miles its lost very little oil, not enough to add any oil. But I check my oil every other time I ride just like my tire pressure.

Now the 04 Sporty I had before this used about a quart to a quart and a half every 5000 miles or so. Not leaking just going out through the breather holes and back into the carb..

·
Retired citizen
22,081 Posts
The MoCo states that a quart in 1000 miles is acceptable. Some of the oil is consumed through the breather system.

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
I haven't added a drop to mine in 5,000 miles. I have the breather bolts venting to the outside if that matters.

·
Hit it she goes boom
5,073 Posts
I'll go through about half a quart in 3,000 miles, only 14,000 on the bike, its an 03. Its been doing that since 7,000 miles, I just keep an eye on it, running synthetic. Not a big deal I just add when needed.

·
Super Moderator
4,059 Posts