Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Had a gal jump into my lane talking on her cell phone,slam on her brakes right in front of me. I jumped on the brakes of my 07 Ultra and the back wheel started to come around to the front of the bike. Had no way out,let off the brakes to right my self,end up in her trunk,or stay on the brakes and put my New ultra down on her right side and not hit the back end of her car. I put the bike down . When the light turned green she took off and left me in the street. Broke my clavical, and tore up my shoulder. Also did $2,500.00 damage to my bike. Panic stops on that bike are something else. You better be ready for that back end to break loose. I ask Harley about putting ABS on my 07 and they said they would not do it. Too hard for one. I still love my new dresser and plan on keeping her but that bike doesn't make hard stops good at all. I've been riding for damn near 40 years got 3 Harleys in the garage. The others stop a lot better. I know two other people with 07 Ultra's and they have had the same thing happen to them (back wheel comming around) on HARD stops, they had room to let off the brakes and right themselves. Keep this in mind the next time your out and need to jump on the brakes. Good luck and ride safe RAMROD P.S. Should be back up on my bikes by early December,cant miss the toy runs for the kids.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3