Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Cruising thru life..
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding 5 years ago because I got a 99 Honda Shadow as part of a business deal. At first I was going to sell the bike but after riding it a couple times I was hooked. I spent the next couple of years making it my own and putting many-a-mile on it. I also became a member of the Shadow forum to get tips and tricks for my ride.
Heres the deal... every so often there was a thread started that either bashed Harleys or the owners of Harleys. I never really paid it much attention because I was busy fixing oil and water leaks on my Honda.
Earlier this year I inherited a 96 Fatboy. Personally I find the Fatboy to be a much better ride then the Honda was in the way it handles, the power, and better fuel economy.
I still own the Honda because I can't seem to find a buyer, so I am still a member of the Shadow furom. When I see Harley bashing on the forum I tend to get defensive.
How do you deal with those that are jealous bashers?

·
American
28,694 Posts
Welcome, and ignore the HD bashing. Just count how many HD's vs. all others on the road!

·
The dude abides
238 Posts
The 'other make/model/owner' bashing comes in all flavors. I've been playing with / modifying cars since 1992, and when interested in a particular vehicle I've sought out enthusiast forums regarding that vehicle. The bashing is constant. Ford vs Chevy. Toyota vs Mitsubishi. Subaru vs Toyota. Dodge vs Ford. Harley vs Honda vs Indian vs Suzuki vs Victory vs Yahama.

It just comes with the territory - most owners take pride in their vehicle(s) and IMNSHO tend to want to promote said vehicle(s). Part of the game. Getting offended by something that's said or suggested by a stranger regarding whatever my current interest is, well, that's silly. I've no need to get butt hurt, nor do I feel the need to defend my choices. They are *my* choices, I chose because it's what interests me.