Harley Davidson Forums banner

Heads-up display for helmets

6K views 28 replies 18 participants last post by  2009lowrider 
#1 ·
I'm an electrical engineering grad, and I'm a relatively new rider (been riding about three years). In my spare time, I put together a heads-up display for my own personal use. By chance, I took the helmet with me to a motorcycle show last month, and a few people I met said I ought to think about selling it.

I only have one, so I'm not actually selling it, but I thought I'd share it with the community to get some thoughts on it.

The eyepiece displays text in your field-of-view, so you can always keep your eyes on the road. It looks like this from the inside of the helmet:

All of the pieces are adjustable and they fit inside any helmet, so you don't have to buy a $1,500 helmet just to get $150 worth of electronics fitted inside. Plus, you can keep wearing the helmet that you know and like, not some gypsy helmet from an unproven manufacturer.

It works during the day, at night, and in the rain. All weather, all conditions.

As you can see, there is no frontal aerodynamic impact, because all of the pieces are tucked inside the helmet:

As far as safety is concerned, the eyepiece is made out of shatterproof glass, so even in the unlikely event that it breaks, it will hold together, just like a car windshield.

The pieces are stuck inside the helmet with an incredibly strong adhesive. Once placed, the pieces are damn near impossible to remove. You can try to yank them out, hard, and they won't budge.

The one thing that I plan on implementing soon is navigation. Looking at a tank-mount seems a bit farfetched to me, which is why I never got one, but having it in my field-of-view seems perfectly acceptable. That's the vision. That and slimming the whole thing down.

So, what do you guys think? Do you see yourself buying one of these, if it were available?

See less See more
#25 ·