Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I joined yesterday at the behest of @lesblank.

I have been riding since 1980 at the age of 15 when I bought two bikes for dirt racing: both were 1968 Ossa 250s. Since then I have had 32 bikes under my bum, with many being dirt bikes. Besides the bike that now brings me here, I currently have three other bikes at the house; 1982 XS650, 2006 Stratoliner with 123K miles and a Triumph Rocket III Touring with 89K miles. The two Yamahas are offline at present so what is one to do, go buy a Harley.

And that is what brings me to this forum. I decided to buy a new bike. Triumph has stopped making the big touring cruiser I have now and appears they will not make another. The current R3s are fun as hell for sure, but they do not meet my needs. The big four from Japan have also ended their run of big touring cruisers without a fairing. So, I narrowed the list to just five others: BMW's R18 Classic, Indian's Super Chief and Springfield, and Harley-Davidson's Road King and Heritage.

All five are quite worthy for sure, but I have to cut them down to one. The first two I removed are the Heritage and Super Chief. They are excellent competition for each other and if they were the only two left, I would go with the Heritage. It has a bigger tank and bigger bags. But alas, neither bike is big enough to carry me and all my work gear when I am on the road so neither make the cut.

Next to go is the R18. Of all these bikes, it has the best feel off the line. Its bags are big enough for my lunchbox and other goodies, but it does not come with a luggage rack. They don't even make one. It does not come with engine guards either and if any of these need them the most, it is the bike with big jugs sticking out the sides. It does have the most price incentives for a guy like me, but once I source the few things it must have, it is on par with the Road King in price.