Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This upgraded rear seat was on my bike when I got it -

Does anyone have suggestions on what I need to do to get the slack out?

I am a newbie and don't even really know how to remove the seat.

Thanks

Attachments

·
Just Ride
3,025 Posts
A knife. One of the first things to go on any of my bikes is that strap.

·
The Angry One
10,578 Posts
Yup. Ditch the strap. Was probably the first thing myself, and anyone else does after buying a bike with a seat strap. :thumb

·
Registered
36,705 Posts
In Texas, it's the law to have a strap on? :what?

·
Super Moderator
12,503 Posts
Yeah, that's one way of putting it....

http://www.star-telegram.com/news/politics-government/article5244969.html

Malorie’s law

The final piece of HB3838, known as Malorie’s law, will take effect Thursday, requiring motorcycles designed to carry more than one person to have handholds and foot pegs for the passenger.

The overall law, which deals with training and license requirements for three-wheeled motorcycles, is named for Malorie Bullock, a 19-year-old from Sherman killed in 2010 in an accident near Campbell, about 90 miles northeast of Fort Worth.

The Texas A&M University-Commerce student was riding on the back of a motorcycle when it swerved off the road to avoid hitting a truck that had pulled in front of it, reports have shown.

“Malorie was wearing a helmet that did her no good when it was knocked off by the road sign she hit as she rode on that elevated seat,” according to a post written by a person who identified herself as “Malorie’s grandmother” on the Facebook page for Malorie’s law. “We are weary of seeing all the preventable injuries and deaths on our roads and hwys. Just trying to make a difference.”

Much of the law — such as a ban on passengers unless the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person — is already in effect.