Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the cruiser world I started on a honda cbr250
I tried my neighbours honda shadow vfc 1800 and loved it
I'm really interested in the iron 883 is there any problems with the bike or any mods I should consider

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
3,483 Posts
No problems with it. But as you are totally new to H-D, go ride one before making any decision. The iron, and Harley's in general are great bikes, but quite a bit different from your experience with the couple of Honda's. You really might want to ride the Dyna's, which are much more akin to the Shadow.

·
Asylum Inmate
11,664 Posts
They are a lighter bike so if you do highway driving they get blown around a little more than the heavy HDs.

Dynas are a good match but I would also look at the softtail. From around town to long miles they are comfortable.

·
Registered
227 Posts
I came from sport bikes to a 2013 883 sportster iron I love the thing. It is really light but I'm used to get blown around on the parkways. As for Mods sky's the limit. It's all up to your personal tastes.

Good luck in choosing your new ride.

Phil

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Hit it she goes boom
5,114 Posts
Try before you buy, as others have said. A sporty is a great bike. I'd consider a 1200 though, most get bored with the 883 and punch it out.

·
Registered
604 Posts
I'm new to the cruiser world I started on a honda cbr250
I tried my neighbours honda shadow vfc 1800 and loved it
I'm really interested in the iron 883 is there any problems with the bike or any mods I should consider

Have a look through the Sporty section for a tonne of information. So far on my Iron I've changed to a stage 1 and better headlight. Suspension can be considered below par along with the comfort of the seat. Ride one for a whole day for a proper assessment.

Andy

·
Earth-bound Misfit
624 Posts