Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Addicted Since 2010
7,845 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am no expert, but I figure that this little tutorial will help someone who wants to do a stage 1 upgrade, but doesn't know how to do the carburetor re jetting themselves.
1. Locate the air cleaner. (If you can't find it, maybe you shouldn't be doing this so I didn't post a picture lol)

2. Look under the air cleaner and you will see the bottom of the carburetor, the bowl. There are 4 screws that hold the bowl on.

These are the 2 by the air cleaner, and the other 2 are by the cylinders. It's a lot easier to remove the bowl with the air cleaner off, but if you have patience you don't have to. That is up to you.
2012-04-16_18-50-52_915.jpg

3. Unscrew those 4 screws. I used a shorty screwdriver with locking pliers attached. This way you can push up and turn with ease, and not strip the screws.
2012-04-16_18-38-56_786.jpg

4. When the bowl comes off, use a rag to soak up all the gas. I don't like wasting gas at 4 bucks a gallon either but you kinda have to. You can also run the bike with the petcock on "OFF", until it runs out of gas, but some gas will still be in the bowl.
2012-04-16_18-44-46_631.jpg
2012-04-16_18-44-53_289.jpg
5. Now when you look under again, you will see the main jet,(larger jet) which is the one that sticks out, and the slow jet (smaller) which is way in the little hole. Hard to get a picture of.
2012-04-16_18-45-27_744.jpg

6. Now simply hold a 5/16" or 8mm wrench to the hex threads on the main jet emulsion tube and unscrew the main jet carefully with a flat head screwdriver.
For the pilot also carefully unscrew with a small flat head screwdriver.
Note: Main jet is the big one on the middle/bottom of the picture.
Pilot (slow) Jet: is the one to the right and up from the main in the picture.
The thing on top is.......anyone??

Then, reassemble in reverse order and you are done. Stage 1 or whatever you are doing is complete.

Note: