Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this is in the right forum...but heres the story.

I have an expired motorcycle permit (was going to renew it this week). Got the strong urge to ride the bike so i rode it down the street to a lowes because i needed to pick up a key.

While i was inside, someone backed up and smacked my bike, knocking it over. They admitted fault and i got their insurance information. Would me having an expired permit make a difference in this? I filed a claim today, going to renew my permit tomorrow anyways.

Also, i am a missouri resident.

Let me know what you think.

·
On Probation
2,205 Posts
Not sure if this is in the right forum...but heres the story.

I have an expired motorcycle permit (was going to renew it this week). Got the strong urge to ride the bike so i rode it down the street to a lowes because i needed to pick up a key.

While i was inside, someone backed up and smacked my bike, knocking it over. They admitted fault and i got their insurance information. Would me having an expired permit make a difference in this? I filed a claim today, going to renew my permit tomorrow anyways.

Also, i am a missouri resident.

Let me know what you think.
I think you're fine.......had you been riding maybe a different story.

·
Mississippi Cajun
25,195 Posts
Don't ask....don't tell.... is your best road to take .
^^^^This. What they don't know won't hurt you. It was not a moving violation for you, and for all they know, your buddy with a valid license could have borrowed your scoot.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I called my Lawyer brother in law. He said even if i didn't have a permit, they are at fault. He said it would be different if i hit them or got into a wreck myself.

·
Retired citizen
24,501 Posts