Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new here, this is my first post and the reason I'm here is to ask for opinions before buying an iron 883 and regretting it later.

So here are my options :
1. Iron 883
2. Honda rebel
3. Suzuki gsr 600

I have done some extensive reading and everyone seems to advice against an iron as a first bike. However, i need to hear that based to my personal profile since this is by far my first choice and anything else is just a compromise.

I'm 46, 171, 80kg and quite stronger than most people that I see riding harleys. I drive car for almost 30 years, never caused an accident and i am mature enough at this age to use my brain in order to avoid accidents or dropping a bike (at least i believe so). On the other hand, i never had a bike and I'm just learning now in order to get my license. I'm learning on a gsr 600 and i find it easy for now. I plan to start driving in the neighborhood in order to get used to it gradually before hitting the roads.

I live in the city and usually i drive in crowded roads, not stuck in heavy traffic though but it's not like I will be driving in open roads without many cars. I'm also dreaming of some weekend trips in the highway.

Now, given all the details above, plus my lack of experience but maturity on the other hand, given that i don't want to drop the bike since that would kill my confidence, and that i also need some comfort and flexibility on the daily driving in those roads, is the iron a bad choice? Is it true that "you will definitely drop your first bike during the first year"? Given that I also need to handle some maneuvering during the busy hours (which is always the case) should i sacrifice my first choice and choose something else?

I understand that my question might sound stupid but since i have never rode a bike before, this is where i am

Opinions welcome guys.

Sent from my GM1903 using Tapatalk

·
weird member