Harley Davidson Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Ultra Glide Standard with tour pack fiull backrest
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went for a ride today - came the closest to dropping my bike so far... whew!

Was riding 2 up with my favorite gal - we're both a lot more of a "load" than we used to be if you know what I mean.. well, I stopped at a stop sign up a steep slope... had to turn right. As I started to go, fumbled it just wrong and I realized I was losing it - almost dropped it... thankfully I instinctively popped the clutch and my Electra glide leaped ahead somewhat wildly, nearly popping a wheelie... Yikes... but we were still UP.
Sure it's a bit embarrassing, but not too proud to admit it - I guess I'm not as smooth and experienced as I would like to think I am... Good news is that I just need to keep practicing... right honey?!

I have been riding off and on for 30 years and most of my bikes have been cruisers, and it's obvious that 2-up does become more technical as our combined mass goes up(!) Rode 2 up with my son yesterday and couldn't even tell he was there... ha!

·
Registered
2,657 Posts
Did nearly the same scenario but one up with 2 bikes Saturday!
Eric on his SGS, me on my Ultra: We were putting around exploring the streets of Idlewild. (A very hilly little town on top of the mountain) There was a lot of evidence left by the last storm that rolled through. Most all driveways are dirt, while the streets are steep and off camber. Couldn't even see the sand that was spread across at one intersection. We had the Stop sign on a "T". Steep right turn uphill. As we rolled up to the stop side by side, we both were playing goofy foot on ice. Eff this! We both left that intersection sideways! That was the ONLY stop sign, were we actually stopped, for the remainder of the day!