Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to the bike world and need advice. I don’t know what to get as a first bike. The BRC couches had different opinions. One said to go with a cheap Japanese bike in the 500-900cc range until I get some miles and then look at the HD I like. The other couch said, since I am 6’ 3” 230 lbs. and want a cruiser, not worry about size, just find one that feels good. I have been reading a lot of threads that say the weight of the bike is the big issue for a new rider. As a large rider I am of course pulled to the Wide Glide. One thread I was reading, a person did go with the Wide Glide first but he said the weight caused him to drop it a few times, other than that he loved it. I am at the point in my life when buying something for now that I will be replacing in a year seems like a poor idea. Along with that I do have knee problems when I force them to maintain a less than 90. This is what is pulling me to buying the HD I like rather than some cheap bike, like a shadow, to learn on and will require maintenance and replacement before long. I took the BRC on a dual purpose and was very sore and did not like it at all. The bikes I want to try are Vulcan, Fury, V-twin, and the dream bike, the Wide Glide. All of those have good ratings for large riders. So what is the take on going straight to the Dyna family for a first bike? Would I be risking my life and wasting money or making a better long term decision that does not leave me wanting a new bike in a few months, like all my friend did? As for where I will be riding, I am USAF and live on base with speeds ranging from 15 MPH to 35 MPH. I don’t go off base much unless I am in the minivan with wife and kids, so I am not planning on learning at 90 MPH on the high way. What is your take on learning on a larger bike at low speeds?

·
Alberta Strong
4,478 Posts
First off welcome to the forum.