Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a 74 ironhead sportster. The guy said it needs to be timed but it does run. I don't know anything about these bikes and not much about bikes in general. Always wanted one and I'm finally getting one. Just looking for advice. I am mechanically inclined. I'm a mechanic but I don't work on bikes. So any advice would help

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
1st bike need advice

Looking into getting my first bike. Looking at a 74 ironhead sportster. Needs timing adjusted some but idk much about these bikes. It's my first bike so just looking for info. Is it a good bike. They seem to be but idk

·
Registered
36,998 Posts

·
Just Ride
3,036 Posts
First bike,needs timed,suicide shift and iron head sportster makes a bad combo.

·
Registered
795 Posts
^^^Totally agree. Foot shifter is much better. I've seen bikes with the foot clutch and suicide shifter and it is awkward to shift that way no matter how much practice you have.

·
rode hard/put up wet
205 Posts
Ironhead cool but not dependable. Ironhead, first bike AND suicide shifter? I don't think Indian Larry (RIP) would even recommend that combination.

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand, strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming….. WOO HOO…. What a RIDE!”
"Indian Larry"

I love that quote but remember he's daid.

·
Registered
216 Posts