Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Looking for a louder and bassier sound than the stock mufflers that's not gonna kill the neighbors.

Looking at either:
Vance and Hines 3" Slip Ons
TWIN SLASH 3″ SLIP-ONS | VANCE & HINES PRODUCTS

or
Vance and Hines Big Shots Staggered
BIG SHOTS STAGGERED CHROME | VANCE & HINES PRODUCTS

Wondering if the Big Shots are worth the extra money because from the outside looks of it, it looks like there are sharper angled turns in the pipes than the stock ones.

This is my 2nd bike but 1st Harley so I'm a real newbie. Gonna go slow with the add ons but I'm looking at a sissy bar and brake lighted backrest, a windshield and Freeway bars like this http://www.jpcycles.com/product/701-344

Attachments

·
Registered
751 Posts
I have the 3" slash cuts on my 2013 SuperGlide, and I like the way they sound. The big shots are loud.

·
Registered
161 Posts
May I offer some advice here (and a pipe recommendation.) Don't let your concern for the peaceful existence of your neighbors override your pipe choice. I say this because I have personally experienced one situation where some knucklehead in a car started creeping over into my lane. Traffic was heavy and I had no where to go but to drift away from him, pull in my clutch, and give the old girl a couple of healthy twists on the throttle, and the knucklehead driving the errant car wakes up and corrects his 4000lb. bomb back into his lane of traffic. I suppose I could have used my horn but my bike is louder.

As to my neighbors, whom I respect, I idle in and out of my neighborhood. I've even had one neighbor thank me for doing so.

BTW - My bike has a Thunder Header on it.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
May I offer some advice here (and a pipe recommendation.) Don't let your concern for the peaceful existence of your neighbors override your pipe choice.