Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
after 25 years kids are grown, and now it is my time. just got a 2008 low rider. after riding for a while i want to change handlebars. the stock makes me reach to far foward, shoulder blades start to hurt after a while. any suggestions to get a more reach back feel. any help would be great, i am a newbie.

·
STAND AND FIGHT!
13,503 Posts
Howdy lowridernj, welcome aboard.
Funny, I'm a LowRider guy and my first and middle initials are nj.
I had to wait 30 years since my last Harley. It is definitely time.

I had the same problem with the reach, two approaches I'd suggest, one of which I have done with very good results. Nearly perfect, if you're taller than 5'10 it may be even better for you.

I added 6 1/2" risers with a pull-back under the stock handlebars without having to re-do any wiring hydraulics or cables. A VAST improvement for the investment and simplicity. $71, I had to tug on the cables and wiring some to make some slack, and unclip some wires that had fit tight to the handlebars.

http://www.jpcycles.com/productdeta...7C366E0CA78&store=Harley&page=6&search=risers

A hitch, the threaded holes in the stock risers that hold down the clamp do not bottom out, they go all the way thru, as a result the same bolts won't work, get an assortment of chrome bolts from the HD dealer, I actually have some black steel in mine right now because I can't find just the right length, but I have a pair that are a bit too long I will cut to the right length.

Another step if you consider a seat replacement, there are seats that will put you an inch or so closer that will help. I think they are called "reach" versions of the regular seats. If you have a significant other that will ride along you'll need to get the Sundowner seat which I think come in a "reach" configuration.