Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1984 FLHTC 1340
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the beginning of my chronological documentation for bringing my 1984 FLHTC 1340 ELECTRA GLIDE CLASSIC (DD) back to proper working order.
My introduction is here: A newbie to the forum, to HD, and the area

I recently moved to SE Kansas, and along with the property came this 1984 Harley-Davidson FLHTC 1340 Electra Glide Classic (DD). I'm new to motorcycles, and never worked on them before, so I was excited to think that I could possibly get this running, and drive it. I have a few friends that ride Harley's and it would be great to take a few road trips with them and see some of the country.
The bike was in a garage, and from the pictures I had seen before I bought the place, it was parked over a large pool of oil which had been covered in cat litter. The rear tire was flat. It did not have a battery. The bike was covered in dust, and had not been moved in a while, at least not on its own power. A friend found what he says is a motorcycle jack or lift near the bike in a corner of the garage.

In the box on the back I found the original owner’s manual, the original receipt of purchase from 1984, a Harley-Davidson Repair Manual, the original keys, and a new oil filter.
I moved the bike into more light.