Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have bought a 2003 Dyna FXD but the previous owner took off the turn signals. For various reasons i would like to re-install them, but i got no parts from him.
I have read this post http://www.harley-davidsonforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4372 from a guy with similar problem, however my issue is slightly different, so forgive me if i start a new thread...

I can do some minor handy work on my bike, i have plenty of free time, so if possible i'd like to go solo. However i'm no expert and i have a few questions:

1. how do i understand what parts i need? someone told me that the relay, or TSM might have been stripped out as well, so how do i find out if this is the case? I know i need the lights themselves, the handlebar commands, some wiring, what else?

2. assuming that i do find all necessary parts, is there anything else i should know, especially considering that my HD has the standard alarm mounted? i've read in the service manual that there is a procedure to follow to arm the alarm but it involves counting how many time the blinkers blink, and i do not have them.......

3. anyone with enough insight can drop me a rough all-inclusive estimate for such job? or even decent prices for the single various parts.... i'd like to understand if i need to sell my car or not...

4. should my intentions be generally considered as fool for a bricoleur, what would you reckon a fair price for both parts and labour is in case i have to take my bike to the shop?

5. any additional comments and hints will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks everyone!
Giovanni

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh no, don't tell me there are people posting here without having a harley...