Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there Picked up a laid down 99 sportster 1200 S that had been sitting for quite some time. So far I have
.Replaced foot controls
.Replaced shifter shaft
.New brake light
.New primary cover gasket
.Rebuilt and bleed front brakes
.New carburator
.New fuel lines
.New to me ignition coil
.New to me coil wires
.New ignition module
.Replaced entire main wiring harness
.Rebuilt starter solenoid
.New starter relay

The bike is finally trying to crank again if I pull a plug and lay it against the block it sparks, but the bike just doesn't seem to be firing even spraying sea foam into the brand new carb doesn't seem to do anything I'm at a loss and kinda becoming defeated with the entire project I put helicopters together for a living but this thing is kicking my ass haha.
When I replaced the ignition module I set the screws in the position that they where on, on the old one is it possible that I screwed the timing up and that would keep it from starting? Any advice on things to check would be greatly appreciated I know I have a good exhaust leak on the rear exhaust but would that keep it from starting? Previous owner sheered the exhaust stud off along with an extractor in the block.

1. But I have fuel and spark without firing where do I go from here? Thanks to anyone in advance - Mark

·
Registered
804 Posts
I was thinking maybe a carburetor spray (e.g. Gumout) instead of SeaFoam to see if it will at least fire or pop. Not sure if SeaFoam is "combustible" and would work like a starting fluid would.

·
Registered
829 Posts
FWIW: Wd-40 is combustible! But don't over due it, I don't want to see a post where the head blew off or cracked..
Did you try breaking (shattering) that broken extractor with a center punch? Wear eye protection! those hardened tools can break aggressively.

Welcome to the forum, from a fellow whirligig mech. (y)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4