Harley Davidson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time post but I have been reading and have gotten plenty of good information in the past. I have a '08 Street Glide and I was having problems when starting it sounded like something was going to come out the side of the bike. Reading the forum I found that it was the compensator so I figured I could change this part looks pretty simple so while I am in the primary I would go ahead and upgrade the clutch plates to the SE Clutch. All good so far I put all parts in very simple straight forward stuff, when I picked up the oil the guys at the local shop suggested a 20-50 in all 3 holes. I did this and soaked my clutch in the oil too. The problem is now when I put my bike in gear it wants to go I can hold it back but if I pick my feet up it will take off with me holding the clutch in. I can feel the difference when I let out the clutch so I know the cable is pulling in the clutch. Any ideas on how to stop this problem?

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
Most likely either the cable or clutch itself was not adjusted correctly when re-assembled. Double check everything.

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
The adjustment screw behind the derby cover manages the "slack" in the plates. If you're not careful, you can tighten it when you tighten the lock nut. If you accidentally tighten it, there's not enough slack between the plates to let them slip when spring pressure is off of them.

The easiest way to do it is with a "T" style allen key and an off-set box wrench. Tighten the center stud until you feel it seat the plates (it'll snug up some) then back it out a half turn. Hold it there with one hand and tighten the outer lock nut with the other.

·
Kicking Rocks...
11,130 Posts
When adjusting make sure you also slacked the cable and make proper adjustment after clutch pack adjustment... assuming you have cable operated clutch.

·
South GA Redneck
3,898 Posts